Adult Education

New Beginnings

Catherine Fischer will facilitate a series of discussions on matters around identity, family, and community and provide an opportunity to share the challenges and joys of how your path is shaping those issues. One session will be a trip to the mikveh. This opportunity to share with others considering and going through conversion can normalize the conversion process making it richer and more joyful. In addition, people begin to feel a connection with one another that can be very comforting.

PrimeRS to the Movies

Join us to go to the movies:
Gett: The Trial Viviane Ansalem

Date & Time: March 23rd at 4 PM
Location: Ritz 5 (214 Walnut St.)
Host: Ben Zion Friedman
RSVP: Catherine Fischer [email protected]
Rotten Tomatoes Critics Consensus: On paper, GETT: The Trial of Viviane
Amsalem might seem less than thrilling, but on the screen, it delivers
two hours of nonstop, tightly wound, brilliantly acted drama.

ReadRS: RS Book Group

Book selection: Kommandant's Girl by Pam Jenoff. Book discussion led by the author at RS. Based in part on actual events, Kommandant's Girl is the story of, a young Jewish woman struggling to survive in Poland during the Second World War, while spying on - and becoming involved with -- a high ranking Nazi official. The author, Pam Jenoff, served as vice-consul for the U.S. State Department in Krakow, Poland, and as the special assistant to the secretary of the army at the Pentagon. She is

Jews in ALL Hues

Held at Temple U. Conference Center (1515 Market Street)
Town Hall: The Intersection of Race and Judaism
In the wake of recent events regarding the systemic oppression and civil rights violations against people of color, many in the Jewish community have wondered how best to respond. As Jews, the first step we must take is to acknowledge that this is not an issue of solidarity, but of self-awareness.

Modern Approach To Bible Study with Mother Bethel Church

Please join the Diversity Group in the discussion "Modern Approach To Bible Study"
with Mother Bethel Church

Rev. W. Lynette Taylor will be leading us in a look at Amos, The Prophet, and connecting  Amos’s( writings) scriptures   to film clips from the movie “Beloved”.  This will be an exciting evening and all adults are welcome to join.
 March 10 ,  7-8pm
at Mother Bethel Church
19 S 6th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147
(215) 925-0616. [email protected]

Sunday Seminar: Israel Engagement

Who Are We: Understanding the Demographics in Israel, Fred Strober and Ken Klothen
Founded in 1982, the Taub Center provides the country's top policy makers and the general public with a professional, "big picture" perspective, as well as policy options, in the economic and social spheres.  The Center's five interdisciplinary Policy Programs in education, labor, social welfare, health, and economics bring together prominent academic researchers and leading experts from the policy realm.

ReadRS: Book Group

Henna House author, Nomi Eve, will discuss her book.

An evocative and stirring novel about a young woman living in the fascinating and rarely portrayed community of Yemenite Jews of the mid-twentieth century, from the acclaimed author of The Family Orchard. In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them.

ReadRS: Book Group

ReadRS: The RS Book Group*
Wednesday, January 14 @ 6:30pm
A Guide for the Perplexed
by Dara Horn
Discussion led by Rabbi Bill Kuhn
Join us for lively discussions of books  that not only provide “a good read” but also will help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish - past, present, in America and around the world. If you like to read and share good books, ReadRS is for you.
Bring a snack or beverage to share.  ReadRS Chairs: Carole Wilder & Ben Zion Friedman

Exhibition Tour: Nicole Eisenman, Dear Nemesis at ICA with Curator Kate Kraczon

Location: Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA), 118 S. 36th Street, Philadelphia

Experience the work of artist Nicole Eisenman (her work was show at the PMJA alongside her great-grandmother's, Esther Hamerman, in 2011) with ICA Associate Curator Kate Kraczon.  It is the most expansive mid-career survey to date of this major American artist, presenting over 120 paintings, drawings, prints, and sculptures.

RS Career Networking

Network and connect with members and prospective members about your professional occupation, and engage in a lively discussion about Jewish perspectives on business.
Topic: Doing Business with Friends: Should We?
Location: We will meet at Café L’Aube (1631 Wallace Street)
Bring business cards and look for David Behrend, Jon Fink, and David Frankel.
RSVP: Catherine Fischer at [email protected], 215-627-6747 x46.

Character Virtues in Everday Life with Alan Morinis

Weekday Scholar: Alan Morinis
Wednesday, October 22 @ 7pm
“Character Virtues in Everyday Life”
“Pay attention to your thoughts, they become words; pay attention to your words, they become actions; pay attention to your actions, they become habits, pay attention to your habits, they become your character, pay attention to your character, it becomes your destiny” (author unknown).

Adult B'nai Mitzvah Class

We invite you to join our Adult B’nai Mizvah program which provides adults who have never had a Bar/Bat Mitzvah to participate in group study that will culminate in being called to the Torah and leading Shabbat Service on Saturday, May 16, 2015.
Classes will meet on Wednesdays, October 15, November 12, December 10, January 14, February 11, March 11, April 8 & May 13 from 6 - 7:30pm.  
For more information please contact Rabbi Maderer: [email protected].

 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult Education