Weekday Discussions

Social Justice Film Night at the First Unitarian Church

Social Justice Film Night: "13th" Wednesday, February 8, 7:00 PM, in the Sanctuary of First Unitarian Church of Philadelphia, 2125 Chestnut Street

We will be cosponsoring a screening of "13th," a powerful documentary from Ava Duvernay (director of "Selma") about the 13th Amendment which outlawed slavery except for criminals. The award-winning film is "an in depth look at the prison system in the U.S. and how it reveals the nation's history of racial inequality."  

ReadRS

All Who Go Do Not Return: A Memoir by Shulem Deen. Discussion led by Cantor Frankel
Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or present, in America and around the world. 

ReadRS

The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks
Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or present, in America and around the world. 

ReadRS

Here I Am by Jonathan Safran Foer, discussion led by Rabbi Bill Kuhn
Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or  present, in America and around the world. 

The W Connection

Helping Widows Rebuild Their Lives.
Susan Gross, RS member, former teacher and widow, leads discussions for members and their friends who are ready to rebuild and take control of their future.
For more information about The W Connection please go to www.wconnection.org.
If you are interested in coming to a group meeting, contact Catherine Fischer or Susan Gross ([email protected]).

The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: A Conversation with Two Young Israelis

A Conversation About Settlements: Two Different Perspectives of Hope for Israel's Future
Rabbi Elik Goldberg is an Orthodox rabbi who supports the Israeli settlements in Judea and Samaria, where he lives and works as a tour guide.  Rabbi Goldberg is in Philadelphia as a Shaliach (cultural ambassador) of “Bnei Akiva,” a religious Zionist youth movement, in Greater Philadelphia.

Introduction to Judaism

With Rabbis Kuhn, Maderer & Freedman and Cantor Frankel
Wednesdays, January 13 – April 13, 2016, 6-8 pm

If you are an interfaith couple, if you are considering converting to Judaism, or if you are Jewish and looking for beginner’s education, “Introduction to Judaism” is perfect for you.  Registration is required. Please contact Catherine Fischer at [email protected]

Cost: URJ synagogue members: $180 per person or per couple, non members $275 per person or per couple.

ReadRS

The Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon, which David Mandell will lead.  

Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or  present, in America and around the world.  

Introduction to Mussar

Together, we will explore a series of middot, meaning, character virtues.  For each virtue, such as humility, patience and gratitude, we will study wisdom from Jewish tradition and we will engage in a daily spiritual practice that involves paying attention to our own actions and understanding hindrances to the virtue.  Then we will challenge ourselves to reach higher in each particular virtue.

ReadRS

Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or present, in America and around the world. 

ReadRS

Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth by Reza Aslan, Discussion led by Rabbi Eli Freedman

In what the Los Angeles Times describes as a “page-turner,”  Aslan paints a “vivid, accessible portrait of Jesus as a Jewishnationalist, a zealous revolutionary swept up, as all Jews of the era were, in the religious and political turmoil of first-century Palestine.”  Tablet Magazine.  Rabbi Freedman, who wrote his rabbinic thesis on this period of Jewish history, will provide an insider’s viewpoint on this lively controversial book.

ReadRS

The Mapmaker’s Daughter, by Laurel Corona.  Discussion leader, Linda Karp  

Open to all members and prospective members, ReadRS is an opportunity to connect with each other and share ideas through lively discussions of books over wine, cheese, and other nibbles.  Join in and help us select books of  interest you would like to read -- fiction or non-fiction, serious or humorous, controversial or not -- that not only provide "a good read" but also help us explore the meaning and experience of being Jewish, past or  present, in America and around the world.  

Modern Approach To Bible Study with Mother Bethel Church

Please join the Diversity Group in the discussion "Modern Approach To Bible Study"
with Mother Bethel Church

Rev. W. Lynette Taylor will be leading us in a look at Amos, The Prophet, and connecting  Amos’s( writings) scriptures   to film clips from the movie “Beloved”.  This will be an exciting evening and all adults are welcome to join.
 March 10 ,  7-8pm
at Mother Bethel Church
19 S 6th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147
(215) 925-0616. [email protected]

ReadRS: Book Group

Henna House author, Nomi Eve, will discuss her book.

An evocative and stirring novel about a young woman living in the fascinating and rarely portrayed community of Yemenite Jews of the mid-twentieth century, from the acclaimed author of The Family Orchard. In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Weekday Discussions